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Dear New Yorkers,

Buying a car, whether 
it is new or used, is 
both expensive and 
exciting.  Getting 
stuck with a “lemon,” 
a car that just doesn’t 
work right, can be a 
blow to the check-
book and a crushing 
disappointment.

Here in New York, the New and Used Car 
Lemon Laws offer a remedy for newly 
purchased cars that are not performing as 
promised by the warranty.   

This brochure describes the circumstances 
under which an owner may be eligible for 
help under New York’s Lemon Laws.  You 
can find more information, including steps to 
take, frequently asked questions and a copy 
of the law, on our website — or call our 
hotline to have copies sent to you.

Eric T. Schneidermant

Think you have a lemon? 

If you believe your car is a “lemon” and the 
dealer is not cooperating, you may either 
enter an arbitration process with The Office 
of the New York State Attorney General or 
initiate a lawsuit in civil court.  Our website 
has the information you need to answer 
your questions and initiate an arbitration, 
or you can call our hotline  to have the infor-
mation and application form sent to you. 

Office of the Attorney General
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800-771-7755
ag.ny.gov/consumer-frauds/lemon-law

Important Notes:
There are Exceptions
Under both the new and used car lemon laws, 
a consumer may not be entitled to a refund if:

The problem does not substantially im-•	
pair the value of the car to the consumer; 
The problem is a result of abuse, neglect •	
or unauthorized alteration of the car.

Report Problems, Keep Records
Whether the car is new or used, it’s best to •	
immediately report any problem, defect 
or malfunction to the dealer and request 
the necessary repairs. If the consumer 
has notified the dealer of a problem with-
in the warranty period, the dealer must 
make the repair even if the warranty has 
subsequently expired.
Keep careful records of all complaints and •	
copies of all work orders, repair bills and 
correspondence, including emails and 
phone calls.



Need more information? Go to www.ag.ny.gov/consumer-frauds/lemon-law or call 800-771-7755

For New Cars
The New Car Lemon Law protects those who 
buy or lease new cars or motor homes that 
turn out to be lemons. If your car does not 
conform to the terms of the written warranty 
and the manufacturer or its authorized dealer 
is unable to repair the car after a reasonable 
number of attempts, you may be entitled to a 
full refund or a comparable replacement car. 

NOTE: A car is considered new if it was pur-
chased less than 2 years from its original deliv-
ery date and has fewer than 18,000 miles on it.

Cars covered by the law include any 
car that:

Was purchased, leased or transferred •	
within the earlier of 18,000 miles or two 
years from the date of original delivery; 
AND
Was either purchased, leased or trans-•	
ferred in New York State OR is presently 
registered in the state; AND
Is used primarily for personal purposes.•	

Duty to Repair:
A reasonable chance for a manufacturer or 
its authorized agent to repair a problem for a 
new car is considered to be:

Four•	  or more attempts to repair and the 
problem continues to exist; OR
The car is out of service by reason of re-•	
pair of one or more problems for a cumu-
lative total of at least 30 days

Contact the Department of Motor Vehicles at 
518-474-8943 if there are problems obtaining 
repair orders.

For Used Cars
The Used Car Lemon Law protects those 
who buy or lease used cars from a New York 
dealer. It requires dealers to give consumers a 
written warranty. Under this warranty, deal-
ers must repair, free of charge, any defect in 
covered parts. If the dealer is unable to repair 
the car after a reasonable number of attempts, 
the consumer is entitled to a full refund.

NOTE:  Only cars purchased from a New 
York State dealer (an individual or busi-
ness who has sold at least 3 cars in the past 
12 months) are covered by this law.  Private 
sales are not included.

Cars covered by the law include any 
car that:

Was purchased, leased or transferred •	 after 
the earlier of 18,000 miles or two years 
from original delivery; AND
Was purchased or leased from a New York •	
dealer; AND
Had a purchase price or lease value of at •	
least $1,500; AND
Has been driven up to 100,000 miles at •	
the time of purchase/lease; AND
Is used primarily for personal purposes.•	

Warranty Requirements:
Auto dealers are required by law to provide 
you a written warranty to cover the following 
parts:

Engine: lubricated parts, water pump, fuel •	
pump, manifolds, engine block, cylinder 
head, rotary engine housings and flywheel.

Transmission: the transmission case, in-•	
ternal parts, and the torque converter.
Drive Axle: the front and rear axle hous-•	
ings and internal parts, axle shafts, pro-
peller shafts and universal joints.
Brakes: master cylinder, vacuum assist •	
booster wheel cylinders, hydraulic lines 
and fittings and disc brake calipers.
Steering: the steering gear housing and all •	
internal parts, power steering pump, valve 
body, piston and rack.
Other Parts: Radiator, Alternator, Genera-•	
tor, Starter, and Ignition System (exclud-
ing battery).

Terms of Warranty
The length of warranty depends upon the 
car’s mileage at the time of purchase and is 
determined by the lesser of time of ownership 
and miles driven:

More than 18,000 to 36,000 miles 
90 days or 4,000 miles

More than 36,000 to less than 80,000 miles 
60 days or 3,000 miles
80,000 to 100,000 miles 
30 days or 1,000 miles

Duty to Repair: 
A reasonable chance to fix the problem is 
considered to be:

Three or more repair attempts and the •	
problem continues to exist; OR
The car is out of service by reason of re-•	
pair for a cumulative total of 15 days or 
more (although unavailability of parts 
may extend this time).


