
ON THE JOB

New York State 
Attorney General
Eric T. Schneiderman

EMPLOYEES’
RIGHTS IN THE
WORKPLACE

New York State Attorney General
Eric T. Schneiderman

Dear New Yorkers,

New York State protects the 
rights of all workers: full-
time and part-time, on con-
struction sites, in offices, 
and in corner stores.  Every-
one is entitled to safe work-
ing conditions and lawful 
wages for the hours they work.

As Attorney General, I want you to know your 
rights as an employee, and where you can find 
help if those rights are being violated.  My of-
fice investigates complaints of persistent labor 
law violations and can bring civil and some-
times criminal charges against the  employers 
involved.

New York’s workforce is the engine of a strong 
economy, and it is important that workers are 
treated fairly.  If you think your rights have been 
violated or have questions about workplace prac-
tices, please contact my office’s Labor Bureau.

Sincerely,

Eric T. Schneiderman 

NEW YORK STATE OFFICE OF THE
ATTORNEY GENERAL

www.ag.ny.gov
The Capitol, Albany, NY 12224 

518-474-7330

New York State Office of the Attorney General
To file a complaint about repeated violations of labor laws, 
or for more information about your rights in the workplace.  
The Labor Bureau does not inquire about an individual’s 
immigration status.

www.ag.ny.gov

Consumer Hotline 800-771-7755
For the Hearing Impaired TDD 800-651-7820

Labor Bureau
212-416-8700

www.ag.ny.gov/bureaus/labor

New York State Labor Department
For information on workplace wages, hours,  

unemployment insurance and help with job training 
and searches.

www.labor.ny.gov
General Questions 888-469-7365

For the Hearing Impaired (TTY/TTD) 
800-662-1220 

Unemployment Insurance
888-209-8124

www.labor.ny.gov/unemploymentassistance.shtm

Workers Compensation
For information and benefits if injured on the job.

www.wcb.state.ny.us
877-632-4996

Occupational Safety and Health Administration 
(OSHA)

For information or to file a complaint on  
workplace health and safety issues

www.osha.gov
800-321-OSHA (6742)

TTY 877-889-5627

RESOURCES



MINIMUM WAGE
New York’s minimum wage is $8.00 per hour. It will 
increase to $8.75 per hour on December 31, 2014 
and to $9.00 per hour on December 31, 2015. Un-
less you regularly receive tips as part of your job, 
employers may not pay less.

“TIPPED” EMPLOYEES 
Workers who regularly receive money in tips may be 
paid at a lower hourly rate. For example, in restau-
rants and hotels, food service workers may be paid 
$5 per hour if they earn more than $3.00 per hour in 
tips and service employees may be paid $5.65 per 
hour if they receive more than $2.35 per hour in tips.  
For most other types of employers, employees must 
be paid at least $6.05 per hour, so long as the em-
ployee receives at least $1.95 per hour in tips.  This 
is called the “tip allowance.” The exact amount of 
this tip allowance changes with the industry, so con-
tact the Department of Labor to find out if you are 
getting paid correctly.  

Only workers who serve customers may have a share 
of tips. Managers, owners or others who do not serve 
the public may not take part of your tips.  

PREVAILING WAGE
If you worked in the construction of a public build-
ing or project, like a school or a police station, you 
are entitled to be paid a rate called the prevailing 
wage, which is higher than the minimum wage of 
$8.00. The exact amount of the prevailing wage 
owed depends on the type of work you did.

REGULAR PAYDAYS
Your employer must pay you regularly and on time. 
Manual workers should get a paycheck each week 
and clerical workers must be paid at least twice a 
month.

PAYROLL DEDUCTIONS
There are strict rules about what deductions your em-
ployer is allowed to make from your paycheck, in-

cluding taxes as well as deductions for your benefit, 
such as to purchase health insurance.  Your employer 
must get your written permission for deductions, and 
must also inform you in writing of any deductions 
made. Your employer may not make deductions for 
cash shortages, stolen or damaged property, or for 
unsatisfactory work. 

OVERTIME
Most workers have the right to be paid overtime. 
Overtime is calculated on a weekly basis: you should 
be paid at 1 ½ times your regular hourly rate for each 
hour worked past forty in a given week. For exam-
ple, if your regular rate is $10 per hour, you should 
be paid $15 per hour for each overtime hour. If you 
are paid a daily or weekly rate, instead of an hourly, 
you should still get overtime pay.

BREAKS
If you work more than 6 hours, you should get a half 
hour meal break away from your work station. Your 
employer does not have to pay you for this time. 
Your employer must pay you for any breaks of less 
than 20 minutes.

REQUIRED RECORD KEEPING 
Your employer must keep detailed records of the 
hours you worked, the wages paid, and any deduc-
tions made from wages. It is a good idea to keep 
track of your hours and overtime too, just in case 
your employer’s records are incomplete.

SAFE WORK ENVIRONMENT 
You have the right to safe working conditions that 
do not put you at risk for serious injury or illness. 
You can call United States Occupational Safety 
and Health Administration (OSHA) to find out 
more about workplace safety or to make a com-
plaint. Contact OSHA at 1-800-321-OSHA, or  
www.osha.gov.

ON THE JOB INJURIES OR ILLNESS  
If you are injured on the job or if you become ill be-
cause of your work, workers’ compensation covers 

the resulting medical bills and lost wages. Contact 
the New York State Workers’ Compensation Board at 
1-877-632-4996 or www.wcb.state.ny.us.

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE 
If you are laid off or let go from your job through no 
fault of your own, you may be entitled to unemploy-
ment insurance benefits while you seek a new job. 
Call 1-888-209-8124 to see if you qualify.

RIGHT TO ORGANIZE 
The federal National Labor Relations Act gives em-
ployees the right to join a union or work together to 
improve their wages or working conditions. Con-
tact the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) at 
1-866-667-NLRB or www.nlrb.gov.

IMMIGRANT STATUS
Minimum wage and overtime laws protect all workers, 
even if you are undocumented. Employers who violate 
immigration law by hiring undocumented workers are 
not allowed to commit additional violations by under-
paying those workers. The Labor Bureau does not ask 
about a worker’s immigration status.

PROTECTIONS FROM DISCRIMINATION 
It is illegal to discriminate against employees based 
on age, race, religion, color, national origin, sexual 
orientation, military status, sex, disability, familial 
status, predisposing genetic characteristics, or marital 
status. Call the New York State Division of Human 
Rights at 718-741-8400 or www.dhr.state.ny.us or 
contact the Attorney General’s Civil Rights Bureau 
at 1-800-771-7755.

RETALIATION IS ILLEGAL
You have the right to complain to your employer or 
a government agency, like the Office of the Attorney 
General, OSHA or the NYS Labor Department if you 
believe your rights are being violated or if working 
conditions are unsafe. It is illegal for employers to 
punish you or retaliate against you for making com-
plaints of this nature.


