STATE OF NEW YORK DEPARTMENT OF LAw

HEAL ESTATE FINANCING BUREAU STAFF pate. 3/7/85%
JANE ROSENBERG
Application of L.1984 chapter 234 to Eviction Plans: Eviction of

disabled, tenants on the grounds of an owner's

personal

elderly or long-term
use.

Chapter 234 of the Laws of 1984 amended three rent laws to
restrict owner-occupancy evictions in cases where the tenant is 62

vears of age or older, disabled, or has resided in the building for
20 years or longer

The law affects all rent-controlled tenants in HNew York
State, and tenants in apartments subject to ETPA. Following is a
discussion of the application of the new law to each of these

categories of tenants.

The law does not affect rent-stabilized apartments in New
York City. However, the Omnibus Housing Act (L.1983, ch. 403)
restricted the eviction of senior citizens and disabled tenants on
See Admin Code §YY51-6.0{c) (38} {(b}.

owner-occupancy grounds.
1. New York City Rent and Rehabilitation Law
{(New York City Administrative Code §Y51-1.0 et seq.;

Chapter 234 amends §Y51.6.0(b) {1} of the New York City
Rent Control Law, which authorizes DHCR to grant a certificate of
eviction where a landlord "in good faith" seeks an apa rtmsﬁi for
personal or family use, to prohibit such evictions if the tenant is
62 years of age or older, disabled, or a tenant of the building for
20 years.

§¥51.6.0(a) (7} permits an owner to initiate a court action
to evict a tenant where an eviction plan for the tenant's building
has been declared effective and any right of continued occupancy ha
expired. This subdivision was added on July 21, 1982 as part of th
law that amended GBL §352-eeece (L.1982, chap. 555}, to provide for
simplified procedure for the eviction of non-purchasing
rent-controlled tenants in coop and condo plans.

Chapter 234 does not amend §Y51~6.0{(s}{7}. Therefore, in
eviction plans accepted for filing on or after July 21, 1982, "20
geér% tenants may be evicted, unless they are also 62 or older or
ﬁig&iéaé, However, these tenants may not be evicted on the grounds
of an owner's personal use if the eviction plan was accepted prior
to the July 21, 1982 enactment of §V51 - 6.0{a} (7). In sucl a ;
an application for a certificate of eviction would be d
DHCR, as authorized by chap. 234




2. Emergency Tenant Protection Act
{Unconsclidated Laws S8621 et. seq. .,
Tenant Protection Regs §2502.5, 2504.4)

Chapter 234 amends §8630 of the ETPA, which authorizes
DHCR to promulgate regulations for apartments located in cities,
towns and villages in Nassau, Rockland and Westchester Counties that
have adopted ETPA. §8630(a) states that any regulation permitting
non-renewal of leases on the grounds of owner-occupancy shall
require a showing of immediate and compelling necesity and shall not
apply where the tenant is 62 or older, disabled, or a "20 year"
tenant of the building.

Two provisions of the Tenant Protection regulations apply
to coop and condo plans. §2504.4{(a}) permits an owner to refuse to
renew a lease, obtain an order from DHCR, and evict a tenant on the
grounds of personal or family use. "Good faith" and "compelling
necessity"” must be shown. The new law would operate so as to
prohibit such actions if the tenant is in one of the three protected
classes,

§2502.5(8) of the Regulations allows a landlord to insert

a 90-day cancellation clause in a tenant’'s new or renewal lease,

rovided that an offering plan has been accepted for filing by the
Attorney General. The clause permits a subsequent purchaser of the
apartment or shares to terminate the lease on 90 days notice for the
personal use of occupancy by the owner or a member of his or her
immediate family. In a municipality that has adopted GBL §352-eee,
the clause is operative only after three years have expired after
the plan is declared effective. Although chap. 234 is not directls
on point, it would presumably nullify the operation of such lease
termination clauses if the apartment is occupied by a protected
tenant, even i1f the municipality has not adopted §352-eece.

3. Emergency Housing Rent Control Law
{(Unconsolidated Laws §8581 et seq.:
State Rent and Eviction Regulations §2104.5)

234 amends §
which govern

to evict a tenant on the grounds of
ge, a certificate of eviction must
"good faith" and, in some case i
", must be shown. However, since t
Lficate of eviction will not be gr
£ the tenant is at least 62 ve
r” tenant.




Since the statute does not distinguish between rentals and
co-ops or condos, it would operate so as to protect "20 year®
tenants living in buildings throughout the state converted pursuant
to eviction plans. Thus, in municipalities that have adopted GBL
§352~eee, "20 year” tenants are added to senior citizens and the
disabled as a protected class, as they are in municipalities that
have adopted GBL §352-e(Z-a). In municipalities that have not
adopted either law, "20 year”, elderly and disabled rent-controlled
tenants are nevertheless protected.

Note that DHCR has not amended the Rent and Eviction
Regulations to conform to chapter 234.
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